News Headlines     |     


NEWS IN BRIEF...

Pam Thorburn recovering from knee surgerey, England Alpine Squad gets a new Head Coach, Another fire at the old Sheffield dry slope, Chairlift rescue at Madrid's indoor snow centre, Jury to decide Vail avalanche case + Everest mountaineer goes for title. NEW & UPDATED


LARGE ICEBERG STUCK

Canada's Iceberg Alley lives up to its name as the iceberg season starts. A large one becomes a tourist attraction as it remains grounded off the Newfoundland coast. NEW


THE FREE MAN

PlanetSKI was invited to a preview of The Free Man, a documentary film with freestyle skier Jossi Wells also featuring the infamous group of daredevils and adventurers called The Flying Frenchies.


ROW ERUPTS AS DJ PLAYS EVEREST BASE CAMP

The Soundtrek Project crew plus British DJ Paul Oakenfold hosted the Highest Party on Earth. It has triggered criticism as some claim it showed disrespect for the mountain. NEW


NEWS IN BRIEF...

Armada skis sold for $4.1m, Swiss skier lands first Quad Cork 1800, sharp rise in term-time holidays + Canadian Olympic slopestyle athlete injured in accident near Whistler. NEW & UPDATED


6 YEAR OLD GIRL DIES IN SWISS SKI CRASH

She was in collision with a 16-year old in the resort of Les Mosses. An investigation is underway. NEW


FOUR DEAD IN TWO SEPARATE AVALANCHES

One struck in St Anton in Austria and the other was in Italy near the Swiss border. It follows an avalanche earlier in the week in Austria that killed 4 Swiss ski tourers.


SWISS MOUNTAIN GUIDE FACES JAIL AFTER FATAL AVALANCHE

4 people he was guiding died in the avalanche in Austria earlier this month. The authorites are seeing if he will faces charges of homicide through negligence. NEW


PERFECT V FOR VICTORY

Channel 4's celebrity TV series The Jump concludes as former Made In Chelsea star Spencer Matthews beats Olympian Louis Smith in the final jump-off and wins the coveted Cowbell.


4 DEAD IN AUSTRIA AVALANCHE

The bodies of four ski tourers have been recovered after an avalanche in the Tirol on Wednesday. An investigation is underway. UPDATED


A FLYING JUMP

There was something in the air on Sunday as the eight remaining players in Channel4's celebrity TV show The Jump battled for a place in the finals.


THE EAGLE HAS LANDED

Eddie 'The Eagle' Edwards returned to Calgary and jumped again at the Olympic Park, to the cheers of delighted spectators. Watch him jump here. NEW




PERFECT V FOR VICTORY

4 DEAD IN AUSTRIA AVALANCHE

A FLYING JUMP

THE EAGLE HAS LANDED

THE EAGLE FLIES TODAY

180 RESCUED FROM LIFT IN FRANCE

ANOTHER FATAL AVALANCHE IN ITALY

3 DIE IN ITALIAN AVALANCHE







FREEZERUNNING AT ICE CITY (Thursday March 2, 2017)
FREESKIER JETPACKS TO LUNCH DATE (Wednesday March 1, 2017)
HIGH SPEED ON TEA TRAYS (Wednesday March 1, 2017)
MAN CHARGED OVER HIT-AND-RUN IN LA CLUSAZ (Tuesday February 28, 2017)
NEWS IN BRIEF... (Tuesday February 28, 2017)
IS SKIING IN THE ALPS DOOMED? (Friday February 24, 2017)
JUST A LOT OF JUMPING (Monday February 20, 2017)
TRIBUTES AFTER 4 DIE IN TIGNES AVALANCHE (Sunday February 19, 2017)
JUMP CONTESTANT LOSES FUNDING (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
DRAMATIC CHAIRLIFT RESCUE (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
SIR BRADLEY WIGGINS LEAVES THE JUMP (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
SKI RESORT FIGHTS ON TO STAY INDEPENDENT (Sunday February 12, 2017)
GIGASELFIES AT RUINETTES (Friday February 10, 2017)
YOU MIGHT AS WELL JUMP! (Wednesday February 8, 2017)
NEWS IN BRIEF (Monday January 30, 2017)
SKI VIDEOS OF THE DAY... (Saturday January 28, 2017)
SKI PATROLLER DIES IN AVALANCHE EXPLOSION (Saturday January 28, 2017)
SEEKING AURORA (Tuesday January 24, 2017)
10 FOUND ALIVE IN ITALIAN HOTEL AVALANCHE (Sunday January 22, 2017)
HIGH RISK OF AVALANCHES OFF PISTE (Friday January 20, 2017)
US SKI TEAM STRIPS FOR CALENDAR (Wednesday January 18, 2017)
SNOWBOARDER SAVED BY AIRBAG (Monday January 16, 2017)
TWO DEAD IN SEPARATE AVALANCHES IN SWITZERLAND (Thursday January 12, 2017)
SECOND CHAIRLIFT FALL AT US RESORT (Wednesday January 4, 2017)
SPATE OF ACCIDENTS IN THE ALPS (Wednesday January 4, 2017)
FIRE AT HISTORIC HOTEL IN BANFF (Tuesday January 3, 2017)
4 DIE IN SEPARATE SKI ACCIDENTS IN USA (Monday January 2, 2017)
INVESTIGATION INTO ITALIAN GONDOLA ACCIDENT (Sunday January 1, 2017)
FIS INTRODUCES A NEW APP (Sunday January 1, 2017)
NEWS IN BRIEF (Saturday December 31, 2016)
SKI VIDEOS OF THE DAY... (Friday December 30, 2016)
NON SKIERS HIT SKI RESORTS (Tuesday December 27, 2016)
TIGHTER RULES TO TACKLE SKI BINGE DRINKING (Sunday December 25, 2016)
XMAS FUTURE IS DRONES NOT RUDOLPH (Friday December 23, 2016)
PISTE PERFECT (Thursday December 15, 2016)
FIRE DESTROYS CHAMONIX WOODEN SKI WORKSHOP (Monday December 12, 2016)
GOTTHARD BASE TUNNEL OPENS (Sunday December 11, 2016)
DAVE RYDING: THE PLANETSKI INTERVIEW (Thursday December 8, 2016)
WOLVES SPOTTED IN SWISS CANTON (Thursday December 8, 2016)
22-YEAR OLD GB STUDENT DIES ON SKI TRIP (Wednesday December 7, 2016)
GB SKI INSTRUCTOR WINS HISTORIC CASE IN FRANCE (Monday December 5, 2016)
BRITISH SKI SCHOOL OPENS IN CHINA (Thursday December 1, 2016)
SIMON BUTLER - FRENCH COURT RULING IN FULL (Wednesday November 30, 2016)
NEWS IN BRIEF... (Wednesday November 30, 2016)
SKI VIDEOS OF THE DAY... (Tuesday November 29, 2016)
BUNNIES BACK ON BURTON BOARDS (Monday November 21, 2016)
WHERE TO SKI IN THE AUTUMN (Friday November 18, 2016)
CAUTION IS URGED (Monday November 14, 2016)
AND THE WINNERS ARE... (Tuesday November 8, 2016)
SKIER AWARDED BIG BUCKS AFTER COLLISION (Saturday November 5, 2016)
NEW BASE JUMP RECORD SET IN HIMALAYAS (Tuesday November 1, 2016)
NEWS IN BRIEF... (Monday October 31, 2016)
SCOTLAND & ICELAND TEAM UP (Sunday October 30, 2016)
Highest parachute jump achieved (Thursday October 27, 2016)
INCREASING THREAT FROM CLIMATE CHANGE (Tuesday October 25, 2016)
SKI VIDEOS OF THE DAY... (Friday October 21, 2016)
AVALANCHE DEATH IN AUSTRIA (Tuesday October 18, 2016)
£1m COMPENSATION FOR ALPS CRASH VICTIM (Monday October 17, 2016)
GB CYCLE COACH HEADS TO SNOWSPORTS (Sunday October 16, 2016)
VONN/MANCUSO BOARDERS ROW (Friday October 14, 2016)
SKI CHARITY CLOSES FUND AFTER TAX PROBE (Wednesday October 12, 2016)
CHAMONIX BANS WINGSUIT FLYING (Thursday October 6, 2016)
BRITON TO RUN SKI EGYPT (Friday September 30, 2016)
NEWS IN BRIEF... (Thursday September 29, 2016)
SKI VIDEOS OF THE DAY... (Thursday September 29, 2016)
TRIBUTES TO FIRST AVALANCHE VICTIM IN CANADA (Wednesday September 28, 2016)
ARABS AMONG TOP BUYERS OF SKI HOMES (Friday September 23, 2016)
50 TRAPPED OVERNIGHT IN GONDOLA (Sunday September 11, 2016)
INVESTIGATION INTO CHAMONIX LIFT BREAKDOWN (Sunday September 11, 2016)
11-YEAR OLD FALLS FROM NZ CHAIRLIFT (Tuesday September 6, 2016)
MISSING IN THE MOUNTAINS (Wednesday August 31, 2016)
NEWS IN BRIEF... (Wednesday August 31, 2016)
BRIT AMONG 3 KILLED IN AVALANCHE (Sunday August 21, 2016)
2 JAILED FOR CHILL FACTORE MURDER (Friday August 19, 2016)
SUMMER ACCIDENTS IN THE ALPS (Thursday August 18, 2016)
AIR ZERMATT RESCUES A COW (Thursday August 18, 2016)
Tourism concerns if UK leaves EU (Wednesday August 17, 2016)
CHINESE FLOCK TO SWISS ALPS (Tuesday August 16, 2016)
FUTURISTIC OLYMPIC BRIDGE (Saturday August 13, 2016)
HUMAN BONES SKI RESORT MYSTERY (Friday August 12, 2016)
2 BRITONS DIE ON THE MATTERHORN (Tuesday August 9, 2016)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners