News Headlines     |     


SHOULD RESORTS END SNOWMAKING?

That's the wish of an organisation called Responsible Travel. But do the facts back the environmental desire? NEW


SNOWTOBER!

Ski resorts in the US and Canada got a big dump of the white stuff as October gets under way. It's looking good. UPDATED


LES2ALPES CANCELS OCTOBER GLACIER OPENING

The glacier at the French resort simply doesn't have enough snow. It is yet another sign of the impact of climate change. NEW & UPDATED


IT'S GONE

The last remaining patch of snow in the UK has melted. It's the first time the island has been completely snowless in 11 years.


OLDEST SCOT SNOW PATCH MELTING

The longest lasting patch of snow in the Highlands, known as the Sphinx, could completely vanish by the weekend. UPDATED


FIRST SKIING IN USA

Mount Bachelor, Silverton & now Mammoth have seen some skiing this week. The canons are turned on at other US resorts. UPDATED


FIRST SNOW ACROSS NORTH AMERICA

Snow falls at US resorts and in Canada too. The snow is also helping fight the wildfires of the summer that still burn in the mountains.


HEAVY SNOW FALLS IN THE ALPS

Up to half a metre has fallen in parts of Austria. Several resorts have opened though warmer weather is on the way. UPDATED


SEPTEMBER SNOW IS BACK!

It's been snowing at some of the glacier resorts in Austria & Switzerland. One resort even hopes to open this weekend. Winter is on its way folks! UPDATED


BEST SNOW OF THE CENTURY

There have been huge snowfalls in Oz & NZ with more in the forecast. Resorts have announced they're staying open a while longer. UPDATED


HEAVY SNOW IN THE ALPS

More than half a metre fell but most has now melted. It has been a good top up to the glacier resorts that open soon after a poor summer. UPDATED


IT'S SNOWING IN THE ANDES

It's safe to say that winter is back after a worrying pause; snow has dropped through many resorts in Argentina & Chile. About time... UPDATED




SEPTEMBER SNOW IS BACK!

BEST SNOW OF THE CENTURY

HEAVY SNOW IN THE ALPS

IT'S SNOWING IN THE ANDES

SNOW DOWN UNDER

US WILDFIRES

POOR SNOW ENDS ITALIAN GLACIER SKIING

AVALANCHE WARNINGS ACROSS NZ







GLACIER SKIING - GO WHILE YOU STILL CAN (Wednesday August 2, 2017)
SUMMER TO WINTER TO SUMMER (Tuesday August 1, 2017)
US SKI RESORTS EXTEND SEASON (Sunday May 28, 2017)
HUGE SNOWSTORM HITS US SKI RESORTS (Sunday May 21, 2017)
DEEP IN THE GOLDEN STATE (Friday May 12, 2017)
GOING OUT WITH A BANG! (Wednesday May 3, 2017)
MASSIVE SNOWSTORM HITS THE ALPS (Saturday April 29, 2017)
WINTER IS BACK! (Saturday April 22, 2017)
THE HEATWAVE CONTINUES (Thursday April 13, 2017)
EASTER - THE NEW XMAS? (Friday April 7, 2017)
SPRING SKIING IS HERE (Tuesday April 4, 2017)
NORTH AMERICA SNOW ROUND-UP (Saturday April 1, 2017)
SNOW ACROSS THE MOUNTAINS (Thursday March 30, 2017)
SCIENTISTS TRIGGER HUGE AVALANCHE (Thursday March 23, 2017)
SPRING CONDITIONS ACROSS THE MOUNTAINS (Wednesday March 22, 2017)
2 DEAD IN SEPARATE AVALANCHES IN FRANCE (Friday March 10, 2017)
SNOW ACROSS THE MOUNTAINS (Thursday March 9, 2017)
SNOW SNOW AND MORE SNOW! (Thursday March 9, 2017)
THE SNOW KEEPS COMING (Monday March 6, 2017)
THE SNOW HAS ARRIVED (Wednesday March 1, 2017)
STORM DORIS RAVAGES UK (Saturday February 25, 2017)
PLANETSKI SNOW ROUND UP (Tuesday February 21, 2017)
THERE IS SNOW IN THE ALPS BUT MUCH MORE IS NEEDED (Friday February 17, 2017)
DEEP SNOW IN NORTH AMERICA (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
4 RESORTS IN A DAY (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
MILD & SUNNY IN THE ALPS (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
SCOTLAND'S SKI SEASON STARTS (Monday February 13, 2017)
MORE SNOW IS FALLING (Thursday February 9, 2017)
HEAVY SNOW FALLING (Monday February 6, 2017)
WHAT'S THE SNOW LIKE? (Tuesday January 31, 2017)
GOOD CONDITIONS CONTINUE (Wednesday January 25, 2017)
PLANETSKI SNOW REPORT IS OUT (Sunday January 22, 2017)
POWDER IN THE PYRENEES (Wednesday January 18, 2017)
BEST CONDITIONS OF THE WINTER! (Wednesday January 18, 2017)
MASSIVE SNOWSTORM HITS THE ALPS (Sunday January 15, 2017)
SNOW FALLS WITH MORE TO COME (Thursday January 12, 2017)
IT'S SNOWING! (Tuesday January 10, 2017)
DROUGHT COULD LEAD TO BAN ON SNOW CANNONS (Tuesday January 10, 2017)
THE SNOW SETTLES (Sunday January 8, 2017)
SNOW IS FALLING IN THE ALPS! (Thursday January 5, 2017)
PLANETSKI SNOW REPORT IS OUT (Monday January 2, 2017)
IT'S SNOWING IN THE ALPS (Thursday December 29, 2016)
HEAVY SNOW CONTINUES IN NORTH AMERICA (Thursday December 22, 2016)
SNOW IN THE ALPS! (Wednesday December 21, 2016)
PLANETSKI SNOW REPORT IS OUT! (Sunday December 18, 2016)
THE SNOW CANNONS ARE SWITCHED ON (Thursday December 15, 2016)
SNOW ARRIVES IN NORTH AMERICA (Monday December 12, 2016)
MORE SNOW NEEDED IN THE ALPS (Sunday December 11, 2016)
VIDEO DIARY FROM TIGNES (Sunday December 11, 2016)
THE WEBCAMS DON'T LIE (Sunday December 11, 2016)
SNOW CONCERNS ARE GROWING (Wednesday December 7, 2016)
WILL IT BE A WHITE XMAS IN THE UK? (Wednesday December 7, 2016)
MORE SNOW IS NEEDED (Sunday December 4, 2016)
BRITON AMONG TWO DEAD IN AUSTRIA AVALANCHE (Tuesday November 29, 2016)
MORE RESORTS OPEN AS WEATHER CLEARS (Monday November 28, 2016)
THE ALPS IN PICTURES (Sunday November 27, 2016)
BEST EARLY SEASON SNOW EVER? (Friday November 25, 2016)
AMERICA ASKS: WHERE'S OUR SNOW? (Thursday November 24, 2016)
WILD WEATHER IN THE ALPS (Thursday November 24, 2016)
MIXED CONDITIONS FOR THANKSGIVING (Thursday November 24, 2016)
SNOW IN THE UK (Monday November 21, 2016)
MORE SNOW IN THE ALPS (Sunday November 20, 2016)
HOW TO MEASURE SNOW (Friday November 18, 2016)
SNOW IN UK SKI RESORTS (Friday November 18, 2016)
BEST SNOW PICS FROM FRANCE (Sunday November 13, 2016)
SNOW, SNOW & MORE SNOW (Saturday November 12, 2016)
COURCHEVEL IN PICTURES (Friday November 11, 2016)
FIRST BIG SNOWFALL OF WINTER CONTINUES (Thursday November 10, 2016)
BEFORE, DURING & AFTER (Tuesday November 8, 2016)
THE STORM STARTS (Sunday November 6, 2016)
IT'S GOING TO SNOW! (Friday November 4, 2016)
THE SEASON STARTS (Sunday October 30, 2016)
FIRST US RESORT OPENS (Saturday October 29, 2016)
AUTUMN IN THE AUSTRIAN ALPS (Thursday October 20, 2016)
WINTER EDGES EVER CLOSER (Tuesday October 18, 2016)
MORE SNOW IN THE ALPS (Thursday October 13, 2016)
IT'S BEEN SNOWING (Sunday October 9, 2016)
SNOW CANNONS FIRED UP IN USA (Saturday October 8, 2016)
HEAVY SNOW DOWN UNDER AS SEASON ENDS (Friday September 30, 2016)
SEASON ENDS DOWN UNDER (Wednesday September 28, 2016)
FIRST SKI TURNS IN NORTH AMERICA (Monday September 26, 2016)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners