News Headlines     |     


NEW SKI RESORTS

There's a host of them being planned across the world but it'll be a while before you can try them. NEW


MARCH IN MONTGENEVRE

It's the oldest ski resort in France, has more sun than most and an abundance of snow. Yet Montgenèvre is often overlooked in favour of the bigger, more fashionable ski areas.


POPULAR TIGNES HAUNT SOLD

The Alpaka which has been owned by a British couple for more than 30 years is to be demolished to make way for a new hotel.


THAT'S A WRAP

It's over folks - the US ski season of 16/17 is officially over. Mammoth Mountain, the last ski resort going strong, has stopped its lifts. NEW


SPLISH SPLASH SCHLAD

It's wet and wild around the Austrian resort of Schladming and we're not talking rain. On our visit we find there's water everywhere.


WILDFIRE THREAT TO BRECKENRIDGE

One of America's best known ski resorts was put on alert as a forest fire broke out on the edge of the town. NEW & UPDATED


TIGNES OPENS FOR SUMMER SKIING

It's a go: the Grande Motte glacier is open for business. You don't have to change hemisphere for your summer ski fix. NEW


LA GRAVE - THE FUTURE

The agreement between the cult freeride French resort & company that will now run its lifts states the ski area should stay 'wild'.


SKI RESORTS GO ALL OUT FOR SUMMER

With the number of skiers declining & fears about climate change, resorts & tour operators are re-inventing themselves.


FINAL RESORT CLOSES IN US STATE

Arapahoe Basin in Colorado has called it a day in the ski season that just keeps on giving. But sking continues elsewhere in the US. This could be a year-round season with resorts open into August. UPDATED


THE MOST UNLIKELY PLACES TO SKI

They include one of the flattest countries in the world, a nation better known for its beautiful beaches, and one ravaged by three decades of conflict.


IT'S SNOWING IN AFRICA

The resort of Afriski in Lesotho has recently seen 1m of snow. It's a ski area in Southern Africa and PlanetSKI looks at the snowfall in one of the more unusual places to ski. UPDATED




SKI RESORTS GO ALL OUT FOR SUMMER

FINAL RESORT CLOSES IN US STATE

THE MOST UNLIKELY PLACES TO SKI

IT'S SNOWING IN AFRICA

LA GRAVE SAVED

POSTCARD FROM SUN PEAKS

POSTCARD FROM CERVINIA

THE MOST POPULAR SKI RESORT IN THE WORLD







SAAS-FEE WINTERCARD (Tuesday April 25, 2017)
HUGE DEVELOPMENT FOR VAL D'ISERE (Monday April 24, 2017)
US RESORT LIMITS TICKET SALES (Saturday April 22, 2017)
3 DAYS IN TRYSIL (Saturday April 15, 2017)
JACKSON HOLE (Tuesday March 28, 2017)
A TOUR OF CORTINA (Friday March 24, 2017)
NEW INVESTMENT FOR FRENCH PYRENEES (Thursday March 23, 2017)
WHAT NOW FOR LA GRAVE? (Friday March 17, 2017)
NORTH AMERICA LIFT PASS WARS BEGIN (Thursday March 16, 2017)
BACK IN BRECK (Saturday March 4, 2017)
CRANS-MONTANA: MY MISSED TRICK (Thursday March 2, 2017)
LA GRAVE CAMPAIGN SMASHES GOAL (Monday February 27, 2017)
VAIL TO BUY ANOTHER RESORT FOR $50 MILLION (Thursday February 23, 2017)
A-BASIN SET TO EXPAND (Monday February 20, 2017)
ZIP INTO ISCHGL (Wednesday February 15, 2017)
JACKSON HOLE REOPENS (Monday February 13, 2017)
FANCY BEING A SKI RESORT OWNER? (Tuesday February 7, 2017)
LA PLAGNE REVISITED (Friday February 3, 2017)
BIGGEST LINKED SKI AREA IN AUSTRIA (Tuesday January 24, 2017)
A NEW WAY TO IMPROVE YOUR SKIING (Tuesday January 24, 2017)
SERRE CHEVALIER ON ICE (Monday January 23, 2017)
WORLD'S LARGEST SKI LESSON (Monday January 9, 2017)
UK SKI GUESTS FOUND NEW HOTELS IN BANFF (Thursday January 5, 2017)
HEAD HIGH (Thursday December 29, 2016)
ON TO VAL D'ISERE... (Thursday December 22, 2016)
POSTCARD FROM SAALBACH (Thursday December 22, 2016)
AVORIAZ OPENS (Thursday December 22, 2016)
COLORADO SKI COUNTY JUST GOT BIGGER (Friday December 16, 2016)
VT 3RD TIME WINNER (Thursday December 8, 2016)
ISCHGL'S APRES BOOT BAN (Monday December 5, 2016)
BID TO SAVE LA GRAVE (Monday December 5, 2016)
48-HOURS IN VAL THORENS (Monday December 5, 2016)
YEAR-ROUND SNOW SLOPE FOR TIGNES (Sunday December 4, 2016)
MORE RESORTS & RUNS OPEN (Monday November 21, 2016)
ZERMATT TOP AGAIN (Thursday November 17, 2016)
MORE RESORTS OPEN (Sunday November 13, 2016)
WHEN DOES THE SKI SEASON START? (Friday November 11, 2016)
FAMILY FUN IN LES MENUIRES (Thursday November 10, 2016)
TWO US RESORTS OPEN TODAY (Thursday November 10, 2016)
FIRST RESORT IN CANADA OPENS (Sunday November 6, 2016)
CROWDFUNDING FOR LOW-COST SEASON PASS (Friday October 28, 2016)
MOST EXPENSIVE LIFT IN THE ALPS OPENS (Monday October 24, 2016)
RESORT OPENS WHEN IT HASN'T SNOWED (Monday October 24, 2016)
WHISTLER SALE GOES THROUGH (Monday October 17, 2016)
ANDORRA WOOS MORE BRITISH SKIERS (Wednesday October 12, 2016)
THE BEST RESORTS IN NORTH AMERICA (Monday October 10, 2016)
WHISTLER VOTED NO 1 AGAIN (Thursday September 29, 2016)
Largest ski area in Austria set to be created (Monday September 19, 2016)
BUMPER SKI SEASON IN AFRICA ENDS (Thursday September 1, 2016)
5 BEST SUMMER GLACIER RESORTS (Thursday August 25, 2016)
NEW CANADIAN RESORT APPROVED (Sunday August 21, 2016)
WORLD'S MOST POPULAR RESORTS (Friday August 19, 2016)
VAIL BUYS WHISTLER FOR $1bn (Thursday August 11, 2016)
Cash needed for NZ rescue helocopter (Monday July 25, 2016)
Whistler - Big plans for summer after best winter (Monday June 20, 2016)
Scottish resorts claim success after bad start (Saturday June 18, 2016)
Ski season starts Down Under (Friday June 17, 2016)
Sunshine ends in style (Friday May 13, 2016)
Most popular resorts with the Brits (Friday May 13, 2016)
Skiing in Africa (Thursday May 12, 2016)
Snowboard ban remains (Monday May 9, 2016)
Going green (Thursday May 5, 2016)
Ski resort closes as grizzly bears threaten (Sunday May 1, 2016)
Resort closing dates (Sunday April 24, 2016)
Spring skiing in Scotland (Friday April 22, 2016)
Good April conditions (Wednesday April 20, 2016)
Whistler extends season after huge snowfalls (Thursday March 24, 2016)
Postcard from the Pyrenees (Tuesday March 15, 2016)
Scotland claims good February (Sunday March 6, 2016)
Which resort has highest concentration of bars? (Wednesday February 24, 2016)
Lift strike in Les2Alpes over (Thursday February 18, 2016)
Lift strike threat in Les2Alpes (Wednesday February 17, 2016)
Freeriding in Fieberbrunn (Monday February 15, 2016)
Lets not forget Scotland! (Saturday February 13, 2016)
Uncertain future for La Grave (Thursday February 11, 2016)
PlanetSKI hopes to ski Delirium Dive (Monday February 8, 2016)
Verbier to stage new music festival (Sunday February 7, 2016)
US resort bans bottled water (Friday January 29, 2016)
New meets old (Wednesday January 27, 2016)
Looking for love? (Thursday January 14, 2016)
In praise of the snow cannon (Thursday January 7, 2016)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners