News Headlines     |     


FATAL AVALANCHE MAY HAVE BEEN ACCIDENTLY TRIGGERED DURING RESCUE

The parents of a teenager who died in St Anton last week say the slide happened as rescuers made their way to help the family.


THE SKI CHALET 2019

The traditional ski chalet holiday is on its last legs. Or is it? PlanetSKI spends a week in a chalet in France.


WHAT A RESCUE!

A helicopter pilot showed extraordinary flying skills during a rescue in the French Alps. The rescue was captured on video.


AVALANCHE DEATHS

8 people have died in avalanches & accidents due to heavy snowfall in the Central Alps. It follows avalanches in Norway and N America. UPDATED


WEARING HELMETS IN SNOW SPORTS

Following the death of a man on the slopes in France, there's been further sharp debate over wearing helmets. UPDATED


#WINTERISCOMING

Game of Thrones is coming to the Arctic Circle in Finnish Lapland, but not quite as fans of the TV series would imagine.


SCHUMACHER FAMILY CELEBRATES HIS 50TH BIRTHDAY

He was 50 on Thursday and it's 5 years after a New Year ski accident left him in a coma following serious head injuries. NEW


140 PEOPLE EVACUATED FROM USA CHAIRLIFT

The incident took place in Whitefish Mountain Resort in Montana after Chair 5 suffered a mechanical failure. NEW


DECEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF

Shiffrin rules supreme, Vail Resorts eyes up more resorts in Australia + Swiss Rail Transfer Ticket ends. NEW & UPDATED


‘MIRACLE’ AS BOY SURVIVES 50 MINUTES UNDER AVALANCHE

The 12-year-old was buried in an avalanche in La Plagne. He was found in an air pocket by a rescue dog. UPDATED


DECEMBER SKIING SECRETS

Chairlift carnage, PlanetSKI tops the list, Xmas carvings, Cryo therapy + full-time avalanche dog for Glenshee. NEW & UPDATED


XMAS GIFT (WISH) LIST

Ski themed of course. Got any money left or even a cash gift in your Xmas stocking? UPDATED




DECEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF

‘MIRACLE’ AS BOY SURVIVES 50 MINUTES UNDER AVALANCHE

DECEMBER SKIING SECRETS

XMAS GIFT (WISH) LIST

HOW GB TOOK ON THE WORLD

SNOWBALL BAN ENDED BY 9-YEAR OLD

NOVEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF

INVESTIGATION INTO SKI INSURER







ELLIE SOUTTER FOUNDATION AWARDS FIRST GRANT (Friday November 2, 2018)
TEACHER JAILED FOR LES2ALPES AVALANCHE DEATHS (Thursday October 25, 2018)
MAYOR OF VAL D'ISERE ARRESTED FOR DRUNKENNESS (Monday October 22, 2018)
GLACIER WARNING AFTER CREVASSE FALL (Sunday October 21, 2018)
WHAT'S THE TRUTH ABOUT 2018 WINTER GAMES? (Wednesday October 10, 2018)
COURT CASE OVER ABANDONED SKI VILLAGE (Sunday September 30, 2018)
DID HEAD TRAUMA PLAY A PART IN ELLIE SOUTTER'S DEATH? (Wednesday September 26, 2018)
EPIC DREAM JOB (Wednesday September 19, 2018)
INVESTIGATION INTO ANOTHER CABLE CAR ACCIDENT (Tuesday September 18, 2018)
MAJOR CHAMONIX LIFT STATION DESTROYED BY FIRE (Thursday September 13, 2018)
IKON PASS: FOREVER EXPANDING (Sunday September 9, 2018)
POND SKIMMER CHARGED (Tuesday September 4, 2018)
SHANGHAI PLANS WORLD'S BIGGEST SNOW DOME (Tuesday September 4, 2018)
IOC CAME CLOSE TO SCRAPPING PYEONGCHANG (Saturday August 25, 2018)
NASA TO STUDY SNOW (Tuesday August 21, 2018)
MELTING SWISS GLACIER REVEALS WORLD WAR II PLANE (Saturday August 18, 2018)
BIG INDOOR SKI CENTRE FOR AUSTRALIA (Saturday August 18, 2018)
EXTREME WEATHER IN EUROPE'S PEAKS (Friday August 17, 2018)
BODY OF MISSING BRITISH SNOWBOARDER FOUND (Tuesday August 14, 2018)
TEEN RECOVERS FROM SKI ACCIDENT & IS BACK ON TOP (Sunday August 12, 2018)
FOUNDATION SET UP IN ELLIE SOUTTER'S NAME (Tuesday August 7, 2018)
ELLIE SOUTTER FUNERAL TAKES PLACE (Tuesday August 7, 2018)
MYSTERY OF DEAD SKIER SOLVED (Wednesday August 1, 2018)
INVESTIGATION INTO FATAL SKI BUS ACCIDENT IN NZ (Tuesday July 31, 2018)
COST OF KIDS' LIFT PASSES RISING (Monday July 30, 2018)
K2 SKIER SAVES SCOTTISH MOUNTAINEER (Sunday July 29, 2018)
TOBLERONE RESTORES ITS PEAKS (Saturday July 21, 2018)
WHY EVERY SKIER SHOULD WATERSKI (Tuesday July 17, 2018)
HELICOPTER RESCUE ON MT HOOD (Tuesday July 17, 2018)
TRIBUTES TO CEO OF SKI CLUB GB (Monday July 9, 2018)
MYSTERY OF DEAD SKIER: WHO WAS MR M? (Thursday July 5, 2018)
MORE TROUBLE AHEAD FOR 2026 OLYMPIC BIDS? (Thursday July 5, 2018)
HELMETS FAIL TO PREVENT SERIOUS BRAIN INJURY (Tuesday July 3, 2018)
LUCKY ESCAPE (Monday July 2, 2018)
US SKIER NUMBERS DOWN (Friday June 29, 2018)
CONDOLENCES FOR BODE MILLER AFTER DEATH OF BABY DAUGHTER (Saturday June 16, 2018)
WINTER OLYMPICS MAKE PROFIT (Monday June 11, 2018)
'SHAMEFUL' AMOUNTS OF RUBBISH LEFT AT EVEREST (Wednesday June 6, 2018)
SKIING DOWN THE MATTERHORN (Monday June 4, 2018)
SAVE THE GLACIER! (Friday May 25, 2018)
SAWDUST SAVES OUR SNOW (Friday May 25, 2018)
THE WORLD'S TOP RESORTS (Tuesday May 22, 2018)
MOUNTAINEERS WHO SKIED EVEREST IN TROUBLE (Wednesday May 16, 2018)
AVALANCHE WARNINGS FOR SKI TOURERS (Thursday May 10, 2018)
COW FIGHTING IN SION (Thursday May 10, 2018)
LAAX GOES GREENER (Wednesday May 9, 2018)
'HELL' IN THE ALPS AS 7 DIE (Friday May 4, 2018)
EXPEDITION OR WHAT?! (Friday April 27, 2018)
SHERPAS IN VERBIER (Friday April 27, 2018)
CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN HONOURS ITS OLDEST SKIER (Wednesday April 25, 2018)
FAMILY GIVES UP HOPE FOR MISSING BILLIONAIRE (Saturday April 14, 2018)
NEW BOSS FOR BRITISH SNOWSPORTS (Saturday April 14, 2018)
BRIT TEENS IN AUSTRIAN SKI LIFT BRAWL (Saturday April 7, 2018)
GB SNOWBOARDER SUFFOCATES TO DEATH IN SNOW (Saturday April 7, 2018)
FRESH WARNINGS AS 6 DIE IN AVALANCHES (Wednesday April 4, 2018)
DRAMA AVERTED ‘TWICE' AT ST BERNARD'S MONASTERY (Saturday March 31, 2018)
WHAT HAPPENED AT GUDAURI? (Wednesday March 28, 2018)
INVESTIGATION CONTINUES INTO CHARLIFT CARNAGE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
INVESTIGATION AFTER GONDOLA FALLS ONTO PISTE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
TWO DEAD AFTER AVALANCHE IN FRANCE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
MARCH NEWS IN BRIEF (Sunday March 25, 2018)
SKI HISTORY HANDED OVER (Thursday March 22, 2018)
THIRD BODY FOUND AFTER VERBIER AVALANCHE (Thursday March 22, 2018)
HOPES FADE FOR MISSING SKIERS (Sunday March 18, 2018)
PARENTS FINED £24m FOR TERM-TIME ABSENCE (Saturday March 17, 2018)
BRITISH SNOWBOARDER SUFFOCATES IN THE SNOW (Friday March 16, 2018)
AVALANCHES & ACCIDENTS IN USA (Sunday March 11, 2018)
FURTHER AVALANCHE FATALITIES IN FRANCE (Tuesday March 6, 2018)
BRITISH SEASONAIRE WHO DIED IN ALPE D'HUEZ IS NAMED (Friday March 2, 2018)
FEBRUARY NEWS IN BRIEF (Thursday March 1, 2018)
FASTEST BOARDER ON EARTH (Wednesday February 28, 2018)
INVESTIGATION & WARNINGS AFTER AVALANCHES & DEATHS (Tuesday February 20, 2018)
CHAMONIX TOP OF THE LEAGUE (Tuesday February 6, 2018)
SKIERS MAY SUE OVER CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING (Tuesday February 6, 2018)
SKI CLUB GB HERITAGE STORED (Friday February 2, 2018)
TRIBUTES TO BRITS WHO DIED IN CHAMONIX (Friday February 2, 2018)
SKI VIDEOS: THE FEBRUARY EDIT (Thursday February 1, 2018)
JANUARY NEWS IN BRIEF (Tuesday January 30, 2018)
TRIBUTES TO WARREN MILLER (Tuesday January 30, 2018)
RISE IN UK SALES OF KIT (Monday January 8, 2018)
BRITS ON THE BOOZE (Sunday January 7, 2018)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners