News Headlines     |     


WHY EVERY SKIER SHOULD WATERSKI

It's summer and, as she does every year, our chief reporter has swapped snow for water. Here's her (updated) account of why you should too.


HELICOPTER RESCUE ON MT HOOD

The Chinook did a 2-wheel landing to reach a stranded climber who was threatening to kill himself in the Oregon ski area. PlanetSKI reports from neighbouring Idaho.


TRIBUTES TO CEO OF SKI CLUB GB

Tributes continue to pour in for Frank McCusker who died of a heart attack on a cycling trip last weekend. He was 55. PlanetSKI reports. UPDATED


MYSTERY OF DEAD SKIER: WHO WAS MR M?

It's baffled Italian police for a decade. Now they're getting closer to identifying human remains thought to have lain undiscovered in a glacier for 50 years.


MORE TROUBLE AHEAD FOR 2026 OLYMPIC BIDS?

Bad news this week for potential bidders for the next but one Winter Games. One has announced a referendum and another has seen a fall in public support. NEW


HELMETS FAIL TO PREVENT SERIOUS BRAIN INJURY

Wearing a helmet for snowsports has no significant effect on your risk of suffering a traumatic brain injury, according to the latest research.


LUCKY ESCAPE

Two snowboarders were carried 130m by an avalanche in New Zealand, but survived the ordeal. Safety warning have been issued after heavy snowfall. NEW


US SKIER NUMBERS DOWN

An estimated 1.5 million fewer skier visits were recorded in the USA last season compared with the previous winter.


CONDOLENCES FOR BODE MILLER AFTER DEATH OF BABY DAUGHTER

911 call released of the swimming pool accident that took the life of 19-month old daughter of US Olympic gold medallist Bode Miller. UPDATED


WINTER OLYMPICS MAKE PROFIT

The Pyeongchang Games made a multi-million dollar surplus, according to the man responsible. Could it encourage more Olympic bids?


'SHAMEFUL' AMOUNTS OF RUBBISH LEFT AT EVEREST

Trekkers and climbers have left behind huge quantities of rubbish, including bags full of human waste, tents and garbage. UPDATED


SKIING DOWN THE MATTERHORN

The Italian mountaineer & skier, Edmond Joyeusaz, has skied down the mountain from top to bottom. He needed to use ropes in two places.




CONDOLENCES FOR BODE MILLER AFTER DEATH OF BABY DAUGHTER

WINTER OLYMPICS MAKE PROFIT

'SHAMEFUL' AMOUNTS OF RUBBISH LEFT AT EVEREST

SKIING DOWN THE MATTERHORN

BODY OF BRITISH BOARDER FOUND

SAVE THE GLACIER!

SAWDUST SAVES OUR SNOW

THE WORLD'S TOP RESORTS







LAAX GOES GREENER (Wednesday May 9, 2018)
'HELL' IN THE ALPS AS 7 DIE (Friday May 4, 2018)
POND SKIMMER CHARGED (Wednesday May 2, 2018)
EXPEDITION OR WHAT?! (Friday April 27, 2018)
SHERPAS IN VERBIER (Friday April 27, 2018)
CRYSTAL MOUNTAIN HONOURS ITS OLDEST SKIER (Wednesday April 25, 2018)
FAMILY GIVES UP HOPE FOR MISSING BILLIONAIRE (Saturday April 14, 2018)
NEW BOSS FOR BRITISH SNOWSPORTS (Saturday April 14, 2018)
BRIT TEENS IN AUSTRIAN SKI LIFT BRAWL (Saturday April 7, 2018)
GB SNOWBOARDER SUFFOCATES TO DEATH IN SNOW (Saturday April 7, 2018)
FRESH WARNINGS AS 6 DIE IN AVALANCHES (Wednesday April 4, 2018)
DRAMA AVERTED ‘TWICE' AT ST BERNARD'S MONASTERY (Saturday March 31, 2018)
WHAT HAPPENED AT GUDAURI? (Wednesday March 28, 2018)
INVESTIGATION CONTINUES INTO CHARLIFT CARNAGE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
INVESTIGATION AFTER GONDOLA FALLS ONTO PISTE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
TWO DEAD AFTER AVALANCHE IN FRANCE (Tuesday March 27, 2018)
MARCH NEWS IN BRIEF (Sunday March 25, 2018)
SKI HISTORY HANDED OVER (Thursday March 22, 2018)
THIRD BODY FOUND AFTER VERBIER AVALANCHE (Thursday March 22, 2018)
HOPES FADE FOR MISSING SKIERS (Sunday March 18, 2018)
PARENTS FINED £24m FOR TERM-TIME ABSENCE (Saturday March 17, 2018)
BRITISH SNOWBOARDER SUFFOCATES IN THE SNOW (Friday March 16, 2018)
AVALANCHES & ACCIDENTS IN USA (Sunday March 11, 2018)
FURTHER AVALANCHE FATALITIES IN FRANCE (Tuesday March 6, 2018)
BRITISH SEASONAIRE WHO DIED IN ALPE D'HUEZ IS NAMED (Friday March 2, 2018)
FEBRUARY NEWS IN BRIEF (Thursday March 1, 2018)
FASTEST BOARDER ON EARTH (Wednesday February 28, 2018)
INVESTIGATION & WARNINGS AFTER AVALANCHES & DEATHS (Tuesday February 20, 2018)
CHAMONIX TOP OF THE LEAGUE (Tuesday February 6, 2018)
SKIERS MAY SUE OVER CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING (Tuesday February 6, 2018)
SKI CLUB GB HERITAGE STORED (Friday February 2, 2018)
TRIBUTES TO BRITS WHO DIED IN CHAMONIX (Friday February 2, 2018)
SKI VIDEOS: THE FEBRUARY EDIT (Thursday February 1, 2018)
JANUARY NEWS IN BRIEF (Tuesday January 30, 2018)
TRIBUTES TO WARREN MILLER (Tuesday January 30, 2018)
RISE IN UK SALES OF KIT (Monday January 8, 2018)
BRITS ON THE BOOZE (Sunday January 7, 2018)
THE STORM PASSES (Friday January 5, 2018)
NEW YEAR HONOURS: (Wednesday January 3, 2018)
HAPPY NEW YEAR! (Tuesday January 2, 2018)
DECEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Friday December 29, 2017)
INVESTIGATIONS AFTER 3 DIE IN SEPARATE SWISS AVALANCHES (Thursday December 28, 2017)
INVESTIGATION AFTER 150 TRAPPED ON FRENCH SKI LIFT (Monday December 25, 2017)
WORLD CUP WOES (Monday December 18, 2017)
25,000 SEASONAL JOBS AT RISK (Saturday December 16, 2017)
SWISS MAN CHARGED OVER SHOOTING WOLF (Friday December 15, 2017)
TRIBUTES TO ELISABETH HUSSEY (Thursday December 14, 2017)
WHO ARE THESE DAREDEVILS? (Tuesday December 5, 2017)
THOUSANDS OF SANTAS HEAD TO VERBIER (Tuesday December 5, 2017)
TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE (Monday November 27, 2017)
NOVEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Monday November 27, 2017)
ALPS COACH DRIVER CRASHED TO SAVE LIVES (Friday November 24, 2017)
WINTERSPORTS MUST BE LESS ELITIST (Friday November 24, 2017)
CLUNKS AND CRASHES IN RUSSIA! (Tuesday November 21, 2017)
LET'S SKI! (Monday November 20, 2017)
PARALYMPIC HOPEFUL AMAZED BY RESPONSE TO KIT THEFT (Friday November 10, 2017)
CHALET FRAUD GROWS (Friday November 3, 2017)
OCTOBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Tuesday October 31, 2017)
SCAM CHALET WEBSITES ALERT (Monday October 30, 2017)
CHAMONIX PROPERTY PRICES UP (Friday October 20, 2017)
FIRST FATAL AVALANCHE OF US SEASON (Friday October 13, 2017)
SKI WORLD RECORD (Wednesday October 4, 2017)
UK SKI MARKET: IT'S BIG! (Monday October 2, 2017)
SEPTEMBER NEWS IN BRIEF (Saturday September 30, 2017)
GLACIER TIDIED UP (Tuesday September 26, 2017)
FASTEST UP A SKI JUMP (Tuesday September 26, 2017)
WORLD FIRST FOR LES 2 ALPES (Wednesday September 20, 2017)
SCIENTISTS MONITOR MELTING GLACIER (Wednesday September 13, 2017)
NEW SKI SLOPE FOR WALES (Tuesday September 12, 2017)
BREXIT BRAINSTORM (Thursday September 7, 2017)
ARE THE ALPS MELTING? (Thursday August 31, 2017)
71 INDOOR SNOW CENTRES (Thursday August 31, 2017)
AUGUST NEWS IN BRIEF (Thursday August 31, 2017)
NEW SWISS SUSPENSION BRIDGE (Wednesday August 30, 2017)
HUGE LANDSLIDE IN SWISS ALPS (Saturday August 26, 2017)
JACKSON HOLE - FOR ONE AND ALL (Saturday August 26, 2017)
FROM TAEKWONDO TO X-COUNTRY SKIER (Saturday August 19, 2017)
WILDFIRES RAGE CLOSE TO CANADIAN SKI RESORTS (Saturday August 12, 2017)
VAIL RESORTS GOES GREENER (Friday August 11, 2017)
CANADA WILDFIRES SPREAD & SKI RESORTS AFFECTED (Monday August 7, 2017)
JULY NEWS IN BRIEF... (Thursday August 3, 2017)

With thanks to our main sponsors...

Platinum partners

Bronze partners